Catholic Mourning Period

Catholic Mourning Period

Mourning and grief expression for any one is exceptionally personal. To lose a loved one is terribly difficult too. Thus far, the amount of time in mourning may differ. The length of grieving process may be different too. So, the grief harshness and depth may depend on the relationship of the deceased person. So is the person’s strength to process and cope with losing a loved one.

Thus far, Roman Catholics have a structured practice of Christianity. It offers assurance, comfort and formal structure during the grieving process.

Service Types

The Catholic Church practice three specific funeral rites. Thus, they have customs and rituals for death and burial of a loved one. It may provide a structure and comfort to the family during these distress times.

Hence, the Vigil Service which may be called the Wake, may be happen at the funeral home or the church. The family normally organises this on the evening before the funeral. So, family members and friends gather to pay their last respects for the deceased. It allows the opportunity to provide comfort and stability to the close family.

Many people who may not be able to attend the Funeral Mass may join in this service. The Vigil service includes prayers, liturgy, and Scripture readings. Thus far, it is an informal gathering which and remembers eulogies with special moments.

The Funeral Mass includes more rituals. A priest will conduct the Mass which may take place in the church. Mostly, the body is present during the service. Thus far, the Funeral Mass contains the Reception of the Body, the Liturgy of the Word, and the Liturgy of the Eucharist. Moreover, the Mass includes the Final Commendation and Farewell.

Finally, a tribute is performed in the Rite of Committal at the cemetery. It conducts either at the crematorium chapel or the graveside. The priest reads a purposeful passage of Scripture and make comforting remarks for the bereaved. Thus far, he presents a statement of committal for returning the body to the earth and concludes with a prayer.

Mourning Traditions

The Catholic church has a history of acceptable rituals and regulations that govern the behaviour of any life experience events. It includes death and morning. Thus far, these rules have not changed over the years. However, the engagement and following such traditions are less stringent today. The priests may lead the Mass and the Committal service. So far, they may play a part in the Vigil services. Laypersons may participate as readers, musicians and ushers during the service. Thus far, pallbearers are normally family members, close friends or specific personnel.

The music to play in the Mass needs to be appropriate and approved church music. Non-religious and pop-music is discouraged in the Mass. They may be meaningful in the Vigil service.

Thus far, each Funeral Mass may have a set of liturgies, It will have the order, structure and words that they use at most funerals. Hence, this form of Mass may provide comfort, assurance and security for the bereaved. The priest sets the pace with carefully chosen words and the symbolic acts. So, mostly the congregation may respond in unison to affirm words of faith and encouragement.

Catholic Mourning Period

The Catholic culture that oversee period and kind of mourning has evolved over many years. Thus far tradition and convenience impact the evolution. So, Catholic Church recognise three classes of mourning.

The most intense is the deep mourning. It does not allow any jewellery with coloured stone. Thus far, the appropriate dress code is all black. However, some cultures approve all white clothing. The next mourning period is known as half mourning. Hence, acceptable clothing is either black with a white trim or white with black trim as dress standard. So, the final stage of mourning is also known as light or second mourning period. It allows mild colour clothing. They may include black and white mixtures, mauves, grey or other softer pastel colours. It allows the use of patterned fabrics during the final period.

The culture has emerged to change in regard to the amount of time in each mourning period. Thus far, it depends on the relationship to the deceased. In fact, for a widow, in the 1950’s, the acceptable standard was one year of deep mourning. Furthermore, it was to follow by six months of half mourning. Then, another six months of light mourning. So, nowadays provision has been made to lessen the time frame.

Evolution Acceptance

Nowadays, it accepts for a spouse to observe one year and a day in mourning. Therefore, deep mourning is for the first thirty days. Thus far, it considers other stages of mourning periods as optional. So, half and light mourning may be equally divided in the remaining time. During this the mourning a spouse may not accept nor offer attention to the opposite sex during the year of mourning.

The Catholic tradition encourages the parents or children of the deceased to spend six months in mourning. Whereas grandparents and siblings may observe three months in mourning. Thus far, the first thirty days to be deep mourning. Other family members may observe thirty days in mourning.

Moreover, these traditions often depend on personal preference. The person’s commitment level to the rituals and the church may influence their preference. Thus far, nowadays, it is normal to see widows or widowers wearing colours only to church or on formal occasions

Leave a Reply

Govinda Funerals